Maybe Overstocked Tank

1. L

Lilian New Member Member

Hi Fishlore I recently got in this website and I recently got a 29 gallon and I'm going to get a planted tank I already did the nitrite cycle for at least a week now so are these fish Okay:
    AquStockImage.png

2. CloudTheFluffy

CloudTheFluffy Valued Member Member

Only a week? did you use old media? what are your parameters? and what's your filtration?
    Anyways I would pick either khuli loaches or the cories because cories spook and out compete the loaches for food more often than not. I have had success in larger tanks but I would just pick one for a smaller tank.
    For honey gouramis make sure its two FEMALES because males don't get along. I think you could do either one male of you want.
    If you want the shrimp make sure it's densely planted with lots of hiding places, if not then there be gone in a week.
    I think everything else is fine but I'm not an expert on stocking. If you're sure you are cycled then add one school of fish every week or two and not all at once. Example: week 1 7 pencil fish, week 2 two rams, etc.

3. OP
    OP
    L

Lilian New Member Member

I have a power clear filter 30 and my parameters are fairly close to 0 and thanks for the advice I'll get 2 female honeys and I will add more hiding places for the shrimp which do you think is better kuhli loaches or the cories?

4. o

oldsalt777 Well Known Member Member

Hello Lil...

Cycling a tank takes a month or more. You should be testing the tank water daily for traces of nitrogen like ammonia and nitrite. If you have a positive test for either, remove and replace one-quarter of the tank water. Do this until you have several daily tests with no traces of these forms of nitrogen. Then, remove and replace half the water a couple of times a week.

Good luck!

Old

5. DuaneV

DuaneV Well Known Member Member