Mating or fighting?

1. GoCichlids Initiate Member

I recently purchased two Convict Cichlids, and I believe one is female and other one is male. It is my first time with this species, and I would like them to breed. I'm not completely sure if I was correct in sexing, so could someone please confirm? Attached is the JPEG of larger convict cichlid, which I believe to be a female. I tried to get a picture of other one but I couldn't get a good one. Other one (not in the picture) is much darker, has bluish gray and black stripes--no orange belly but has some green spots on the top fin. I'm assuming this is a male, correct?

If that is the case, then why is the female chasing the male? He would hide in the floating plants when she does that. Is it part of mating behavior or are they fighting? I am just trying to figure out what's going on. I don't want to get either one killed. On additional note, the male is smaller than female right now--could it be part of why she's chasing him? Any advice or help will be greatly appreciated!

Attached Files:

2. RogueAgent94 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to FishLore! :;toast

Yes, the fish pictured is a female. It is possible that she is the dominant fish. This is often a problem when the male is younger/smaller than the female and/or the tank is too small for the pair. How large is the tank you have them in?

3. GoCichlids Initiate Member

I have them in 20 gal long fish tank right now. It is just two of them. The tank has gravels, and a cave that I built for them out of real rocks along with Amazon Sword plant. Is there any way for her to accept and mate with this particular small male? Or should I purchase a larger male in order to get the female to mate? If so, what should I do with a small male that I have right now? Should I keep him and let him grow then get a female for him later on? Is it possible to have two pairs in the same tank or do they have to be separate? I am aware that they can be aggressive.