Mastery Of The Hobby

Kasshan

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I don't believe experience is a really good indicator of whether one has mastery of the hobby. saying I have 10+ yrs experience is a throw away statement to me which I routinely ignore and doesn't add a terrible amount of credibility to an argument. while experience is key, it's the data you gather. if you keep doing something half as well as you should for 10yrs that doesn't mean much. my parents had a friend with a terrible setup, 15 yrs unchanged, I would not ask him for aquarium advice. trying numerous setups and failing and moving on to new setups til a setting works without figuring out what u did wrong is also poor for creditibility. failing and failing failing til u get that one setup right and dialed-in speaks volumes.

OnTheFly

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I mostly agree. I'm one of those old guys that had aquariums for 20 years or so, but it was long ago. Much of what I thought I knew then has been proven wrong during my absence from the hobby. In some cases current wisdom seems misguided because I know what did or didn't work for decades. Some of what we know to be absolutely true today will be laughed at in ten years. You can count on that. I've gotten my nose bloodied many times through the years and try to learn from it. I don't care if everyone considers me credible or not. I don't come here to try and "win the internet". I am here to learn and help others when my experience is useful. And perhaps make a few friends along the way.

Kasshan

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years