Marineland C-220 Rattling....

donatima

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to canister filters, but I have had my marineland c-220 up and running for about 5 months now. The filter won't stop rattling! The only way I can get it to stop is by taking it apart and putting it back together.... then after a couple days it does it again. I don't think there is air trapped because I can't hear that "whoosh" noise like when it first starts up. The sound is almost like the bioballs clanking together... I have read these filters aren't the best...but I'm hoping someone on here has a solution to my problem. SUPER annoying!

Thanks

max h

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I have several Magniflow and C-360's that run quiet. Check the impeller for any debris and clean it, after doing maintenance on my filters after start up I give them a gentle shake to finish getting any air out of the canister. Is the filter touching the stand or wall at all ?

OP
D

donatima

Reaction score
max h said:
I have several Magniflow and C-360's that run quiet. Check the impeller for any debris and clean it, after doing maintenance on my filters after start up I give them a gentle shake to finish getting any air out of the canister. Is the filter touching the stand or wall at all ?
I mentioned I take it apart and that includes the impeller assembly. I have never found anything trapped up inside... and after it is put back together it runs quietly for a couple of days then starts to rattle again. The filter base sits against the floor of my stand but the sides do not touch anything.

max h

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Try contacting the Marineland customer service department especially if it's still under warranty.

OP
D

donatima

Reaction score
max h said:
Try contacting the Marineland customer service department especially if it's still under warranty.