Marineland Biowheel 150 Penguin Making Weird Noises

fish_ninja

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi all,

I do my aquarium maintenance on Sundays and yesterday I noticed there was some gunk building up on my filter intake, so I took the bottom "tube" off to scrub. I reattached yesterday, primed the filter with water, and turned back on - it seemed to be working fine.

Today, it is making some horrible noise. I am guessing it has something to do with me messing around with it yesterday, but after some finagling I can't figure out what is wrong. I'm new to the hobby and may be missing something obvious so I thought I would ask. Just now I turned off the filter, and took out the whole "tube" assembly, so the intake, middle extender tube, and the curved piece with the motor attached to the other end. I checked and all pieces are locked into each other, however it seems that I can't get the motor back in place correctly? The filter cover is not lying flush to the edge of the filter, and I went to press down thinking it was just out of place and the motor made some terrible whirring noise.

It's scaring my fish so for now I am just leaving it. It is loud but is working although I'm worried that it is on it's way out. I have time tomorrow morning before work to run out and get new parts/new filter if I really need to.

Thank you in advance!!!
Alyssa

**Edit** Just wanted to mention that all fish are accounted for...that was the first thing I checked

tocandesu

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I would take the filter off the tank so you can reassemble it easier. Make sure to keep all your media wet, though! For example, fill a bucket with dechlorinated water and put the cartridge there. I like to put my biowheel in the aquarium when servicing my Penguin filter, but you can put it in the bucket with the cartridge as well.

As for the noise, it probably is the impeller making the noise. It should look something like this: