Mandarin fish question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kloseo

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
i have a 46g reef tank, that i have been working on for the past 2 months, the tank is much older around 2yrs but i have upgraded lighting and started adding various coral. As i have added the coral and live rock that the coral is attached to, i have noticed quite a few additives to my tank including quite a population of copepods. When the light is turned on after being off for a couple of hours, i see 50 to 100 copepod type critters. I was considering adding a manderin fish to feed on these copepods. I would never have dreamed of even considering a manderin, however it seems like i have so many copepods in the tank. My question is does anyone have any experience with these beautiful fish and a what advice do any of you have on this should i try the fish or wait and let the tank mature, or is 46g too small for any success. thanks

Last edited:

Annadvn

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I would say a 46g is too small for a mandarin goby, they go through huge amounts of copods a day, i don't think 100 would last him long.

On the other hand if you wanted to shell out for one of the ORA mandarin gobies, it would work! They are more pricy then wild caught, but they do eat prepared foods. Just make sure you are clear when you go to your LFS that you want a ORA mandarin.

Anna

OP
K

kloseo

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Or any other fish that might control the copepod population some, my aquarium info is up to date, so i could add one more fish, just a little concern on the copepods, I know that they can be good detrius cleaners, but dont want any damage to my coral

OP
K

kloseo

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years