Male Guppy Nudging Female Platy

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by LOULOU, Apr 2, 2006.

1. LOULOUValued MemberMember

I HAVE 2 MALE GUPPIES IN MY TANK AND I HAVE JUST INTRODUCED 2 PLATIES 1 MALE 1 FEMALE. THE 2 MALE GUPPIES KEEP NUDGING AT THE FEMALE PLATY. WHY!! :(

2. GunnieWell Known MemberMember

Even though they are a different species, they probably want to mate with your female. :eek:

3. atmmachine816Fishlore VIPMember

Ya you probably need more females so they don't harrass them, or you can move the males into jail and get another tank for them and that becomes your jail for sexual harrasment. Good excuse to get another tank.

Austin

4. LOULOUValued MemberMember

thanks for the help guys. its still going on. theyre all after her now lucky girl ;)

5. atmmachine816Fishlore VIPMember

No that's not a lucky girls as they might stress her out so much that she may die.

6. LOULOUValued MemberMember

just a joke. dont no what else to do. im a novice. will it settle down. the male platty is protecting her but he is fighting with the guppys, before we put the platties in today the 2 male guppys were fighting. atleast my 2 catfish mind there own business! ???

7. IsabellaFishlore VIPMember

I don't think it will settle down. You need to have the right number of males and females (of the appropriate kind) in your tank in order to have a balance. I have also read that otherwise the female will be stressed out so much she may eventually get sick or even die.

8. atmmachine816Fishlore VIPMember

How big is your tank? ways to stop it that I know of
    1. get a divider and divide the tank
    2. give the female back
    3. give the males back
    4. get another tank
    5. if you have room get 1 or 2 more female plays and 4-6 more female guppies.

Austin

9. LOULOUValued MemberMember