Male Guppy Hiding

Jessi

Reaction score
I am new to fish keeping, and have only had my fish about a month (had the tank and equipment a but longer). I cycled without fish by using my friend's used filter media. Then I added two new fish a week. I have a ballon molly, platy, two guppies, two corys, and two shrimp (done stocking) in a ten gallon tank. I think the tank is well planted and decorated. My guppies were added two weeks ago, then the corys last week. My blue guppy seemed to be thriving until two days ago and now he is just hiding in the corner by the heater constantly. He comes out to eat a few bites and for the occasional lap and that's it. I have never seen any fish bully him but maybe it still happens. Water levels seem good (0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 0-few nitrates, 7 ph, 60ish GH (I know ideally that could be higher). My molly seems very docile. My other guppy is the most feisty but he doesn't seem like a bully either. Any ideas? I want my little guy to be ok, if not thrive! Uploading pics of the tank and guppy in question (named Ice).

Attachments

jack22

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
This doesn't directly address your issue, but just throwing it out as a data point for you, just in case you can use it.

Your guppy is acting very different than my guppies. I have a guppies tank with 2 male guppies for the last 5 months and added 2 females just yesterday. All 4 guppies behave very similarly: swimming quickly up and down near the glass very often but sometimes just swimming slowly around the aquarium. But one thing I've never observed them do is hang near the heater.

I'm wondering what is the normal guppy behavior.