Male Gourami Problem.

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Pop19691, Aug 5, 2017.

1. P

Pop19691 New Member Member

Hi everyone I am new to this tank business. I started with 10 ember tetras' 3 guppys and 2 male pearl gouramis . One of the gourami became aggressive to the other so luckily the pet shop took it back. Everything has been fine for about 4 weeks then all a sudden the remaining gourami killed one of the guppys . Then one of the remaining guppys killed the other guppy . Sorry I hope your keeping up. Again things were fine for a few weeks. Then a couple of days ago the gourami shredded the last guppys tail to bits. I removed the guppy out the tank. That left the embers which this morning were no where to be seen. One appeared and the gourami went mental trying to catch it. The gourami is now in a tank on its own. slowly all tetras appeared from where they were hiding poor things were terrified. Any ideas anyone?? By the way all the fish I brought were all on the advise by the pet shop they were ok together mmmm .

2. Fanatic

Fanatic Fishlore VIP Member

Male gouramis will fight if they are in pairs.
    It's best to keep them in solitary, for those reasons.

3. Mcasella

Mcasella Fishlore VIP Member

Anything smaller than the gouramis mouth will be considered food, I've had an angel try and eat a black neon that was three times to thick to fit in its mouth, so it may not be detered even then.

4. DoubleDutch

DoubleDutch Fishlore Legend Member

Sorry guys but I disagree.

Pearls are in normal conditions ones of the most docile fish I know and can be kept in pairs without any doubt.

Angels are cichlids and more carnivorious and predator than (pearl) gouramis.

I kept a pair of pearls for many years.

Did the OP actually see the Pearl kill a guppy and see a guppy kill another one?
    Also the second killing is strange cause guppies are not "equipped" other fish.

What is the tanksize ?

5. Mcasella

Mcasella Fishlore VIP Member