Male Bettas In The Same Tank??

christoglendon
Hey there! I’m new to this, still figuring out how this sight works. I have a question about betta fish. I have two male crowntails who have shared a tank for a little over five months that has a divider in it. Is there a possibility they could live without the divider? Should I attempt to let them be in the same water? Or will they kill each other. I have heard females can share a tank with one another. Another question I had was what fish can be tank partners with (male or female betta). Thank you!

Image1521781986.256072.jpg
Image1521782001.321440.jpg
Image1521782015.456290.jpg

This is my fish’!

luckdown
Male bettas should not be housed together (divided tanks are fine) you can however house females together as long as there's a min of 3 bettas in at least a 20 gallon long with lots of plants. (Odd numbers of bettas are better for some reason)

I have one of my male bettas in with some Platies though most people will suggest only keeping them with snails or shrimp. You definitely don't want to house them with guppies as they'll confuse them for another betta and fight them

As a rule of thumb only house them with dull colored peaceful fish that can fit in the size tank you have them in.

I heard cories are good tank mates for them but they like to school so you'll need 6 of them at least. I'm going to be adding them to my tank next time I visit the let store (which may be soon) so I can let you know how that goes if you'd like?

But honestly what you can keep them with depends entirely on your fishs personality. Each fish is different. I have another male betta I wouldn't trust with any other living thing cuz he's too spazzy and aggressive.

david1978
What size tank? The answer probably is they more than likely they will kill each other in that size tank. Sororities are recommended in a 20 gallon long minimum with atleast 5 girls to spread out agression.