male and female?

1. LykeOMGee Member Member

My hubby and I are getting 2 jack dempseys tomorrow, both are still young but we are getting them off Kijiji. I was just wondering if you would be able to tell me if these two are male and female? One is roughly 2 in and the other is 4-5 in and the same age.

Here is a picture of them... I'm pretty sure they are, but this is my first time having jack dempseys (yes I've been reading up on them, they will be going into our 90g tank)

Attached Files:

2. Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

Love the jacks!!! but those two are still too young to sex :( Or they are stressed and their colors arent showing. Im sorry.

Males will be larger and have more spackles(blue colors/spots) around their gill plates and face. Most males have a pointed dorsal fin also. If you get a good pair, they will color up really well at about 3-4 inches.

EDIT: I thought their were 3 fish in that picture! LOL
    The bigger one is a male but the smaller is not showing any colors and even females will have some coloring

3. Wendy Lubianetsky Well Known Member Member

It is really hard to tell male and female JD apart. Males grow long pointed dorsal fins that are lined with red. They may have round black dots toward the back toward the tail. Females generally have smaller fins than males and have fewer or no black spots toward the tail. Males will develope a hump on the cranium after a few years. I can't really tell from these pictures if they are male and female yet. Maybe someone with more experience can call it while I cannot.

Wendy

4. LykeOMGee Member Member

Haha I thought there was three too! But yeah I'm hoping that the small one is female because I read online that only a male and female can be together cause two males will fight.. and I wouldn't want to get rid of either one! Is there anything special I can feed them to make her/his colors come in quicker?