Making The Leap. Getting (a Much) Bigger Tank

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fieryskys

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
The day has finally come... and I need help! My husband and I are getting a 75 gallon tank. We want to set it up in the living room as a show piece.. now, the trouble is the only tanks we currently have are a 3 gallon, and a 10 gallon. I have about 2 years fish keeping experience myself and he nearly none. My parents always had tanks when I was growing up but this is new for us to have a tank this size. We would like some advice on everything. If you have experience with big tanks please help us out.

We would like a community tank with live plants but no co2. Freshwater only. We would like recommendations on fish species and plant species. What types or brands of filters and heaters do you use in your large setups? Any recommendations on substrates, chemicals etc. Really anything helps!

We will be doing research on every single thing you guys say. Were really trying hard to make this go well but right now we are so overwhelmed with the idea we wanted to get some help from you who have more experience.

Sorry for the long post and thank you so much for everything!

max h

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
What's the budget like for buying all the bells and whistles for the tank? That will give use a good starting point?

NavyChief20

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
So for my tanks i use sumps as filtration. Most are trickle tower. I use sumps because im a cichlid keeper. My heaters are all titanium series. I make my own 3d backgrounds, stands and sumps so it cuts cost. Very little in any of my setups is aquarium store bought. Infact the only thing that is aquarium is the heaters and the tank. My pumps are pond pumps. Danner PM1200s.

wrs2

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years