Making The Jump Into Reef

smitte1
Hey guys I've been keeping fresh water for about 6 years now (my whole life if you count betas and my moms tanks) with a little gap in between due to a move with space restrictions and a landlord who wouldn't allow tanks.

I have recently bought a house(good buy land lords hello freedom) and now have the room to get all my tanks up and going again.

I have always wanted to make the jump into reef but always found an excuse not to it's to hard to care for it's so expensive the equipment looks bulky and plumbing complex ext ext ext.

But I am now ready to take it on so I just wanted to introduce my self to the salt forms and say that I'll be lurking around here to suck up as much info as I can while I peice together a setup.

I don't have a lot of money so getting all the equipment is gonna be a long term project but will in the end will be well worth it.

The tank I will be using is a plexiglas 65 gallon I believe 19"×36×24 I think I'll take measurements later I would like to do a sump with a filter sock then a skimmer then a refugium then into return pump.

For the display I'm thinking either bare bottom or crushed coral with 10 pounds of live rock dead rock to fill the rest of the aquascape and plenty of hard and soft coral mostly soft to add a lot of wavy motion to the tank as far as fish and coral stock in not to sure yet.

I have a girl at my lfs who has always helped me with stock level and tank mates for fresh water she is super excited to hear I'm makeing the switch so once the tank is set up and cycled we will begin working on a stock.

Anyway sorry for the huge post any comments tips tricks suggestions let me know and see you around the forums can't wait to join the reef community.

Jayd976