Making Salinity Right

FishGuy86
Hey guys. First off, I'm new to this. I just got a 30 gallon tank about 3 days ago. It came in a kit with the heater, chemicals, food, light, top, and filter (Aqua-Tech Power Filter). I've added the live sand and the tank is filled and everything is cycling. I have cleaned the filter numerous times already so that my tank will clear faster. Just this morning the "new tank cloud" was gone. Water and sand are the only things in there as of now. My question is how can I get my salinity correct? I've been adding salt, but do I stir as I add...or just dump salt in? Is it ok if some of the salt sinks to the bottom? And lastly, is the filter ok...it has the carbon and bio fiber in it. Sorry it's so long...I just don't want to mess anything up. Thanks so much!!;D

sgould
If the only water movement you have in the tank right now is a power filter, you should do some stirring as you add. The filter by itself is not going to create enough tank wide circulation to fully mix the salt. Given time the salt will eventually mix/equalize anyway, but without circulation, either by hand or by power heads, it will be a slower process which will make it harder for you to truly know when you have the SG you are shooting for. Probably goes without saying, but just in case...once the tank is established and stocked you will want to pre-mix your salt water in a bucket or something, let sit for a day or two and then add to the tank.

The filter/carbon combination is fine. Remember to change the carbon periodically. Are you going to be adding live rock as well, or fish only?

agsansoo
jar05g,

11.gif

I'm on the welcoming committee today !

FishGuy86