Make Best Betta Habitat With Only 2.5 Gallons

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by EarlGrey21, Apr 23, 2017.

1. EarlGrey21New MemberMember

Hi!
    This fall, I am going to move to a college campus that does not permit pets unless they are confined to a 1-gallon tank. I want a betta fish, and I've decided to go ahead and buy a 2.5-gallon tank and pray no one notices the size difference. What is the best possible tank to buy for the betta? Should I add plants or snails to the tank?
    As a complete beginner, I am grateful for any advice to ensure my fish has the most fulfilling life possible.

-EarlGrey21

2. BottomDwellerFishlore VIPMember

Welcome to fishlore!

You want a longer tank rather than tall so he/she has more room to swim. A 5 gallon+ would be best but I completely understand your situation.

Adding plants is great. Java moss is a really easy to grow. They also appreciate floating plants so duckweed or salvinia is good. Live plants help with water quality, won't damage your bettas fins and will give him/her some hiding places.

A nerite snail would be good. Wait until the tank is well established so there is some algae for it.

I recommend feeding him/her frozen or freeze dried foods along with good quality pellets. I feed my betta frozen bloodworms, frozen and live daphnia and freeze dried tubifex along with pellets.

They really like tannins in their water so adding an indian almond leaf or driftwood that releases tannins to their tank is a good idea.

3. BettaBlissValued MemberMember

Since you want a 2.5 gallon, I would suggest purchasing a 2.5 gallon with the most floor space. For example: a 2.5 gallon tank like the open Aqueon 2.5 (sold for about $13 at Petco) has more floor space than a cube style or tall 2.5 gallon tank. You'll want a heater that is appropriate for a tank that size. Bettas thrive in waters 78°-80° F.