Magnum canister not filtering

JRDroid

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I just got it used for free with the 55 gallon i purchased, and they told me it was not working for them. It turns on, when the lid is off water shoots pretty strongly out of the return line (my carpet is all wet cause i wasn't thinking of where i was testing this), and i can blow air through both hoses with minimal effort. The little seal/o-ring where the lid attaches to return hose looks really worn, feels very flimsy, and when it is running, i can see water flowing down/out of the connection there. Is my problem that that seal is leaking, so im not building up enough pressure to get water circulating through the tank? I am new to canister filters and don't really know much about them. Could replacing this little ring make all this work? It also came with a hang on back filter that turns on (you can here the motor) but does not circulate. Any advice on this would be great aswell. if all else fails it came with an under gravel filter and several power heads, but i really dislike under gravel filters.

EDIT: BTW, it is a magnum 350

Last edited:

catsma_97504

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score