Low Alkalinity?

1. Photobelle

Photobelle Valued Member Member

I got 2 platies from Petco (gift card). One died overnight so I took it back with a water sample for them to test. I also tested my water as I just cycled a few days ago and the levels were ammonia 0, nitrites 0 and nitrates 10-20. I use the app freshwater test kit. They used strips there a d said everything looks good except my alkalinity is low. They said that shouldn't effect the fish and will jist cause my ph to change so I may need a pH stabilizer. However I test my pH often (not today) and it is always 7.8 so I told them my pH doesn't jump around. Any thoughts on all this and if I should do something about this ? It is not something I test for as it isn't in the kit.

2. CraniumRex

CraniumRex Well Known Member Member

Hi - I’m not an expert in this but have done some research.

Alkalinity can act as a pH buffer - high alkalinity generally means stable pH but low (under 3 or 4 KH) can cause pH swings. Did they give you an actual KH or carbonate hardness reading? Test your pH first thing in the am or later at night as it can shift through the day.

There are things you can add to up your KH - crushed coral, a cuttlebone (check out the bird department - much cheaper) or baking soda. Proportions I’m not sure about and it would be better to understand what your actual KH (and GH or general hardness) are. I have moderately hard water so have never had to do this - hopefully someone with more experience will weigh in.

3. OP
    OP
    Photobelle

They didn't tell me the number just it was low. They did say we have hard water in our area so it was weird that I would have such low alkalinity.

4. Nicole B

Nicole B Valued Member Member

Did you acclimate them? Maybe just shock from being in a new tank. I wouldn’t really trust what petco says. That’s just my 2 cents. Lol.

5. OP
    OP
    Photobelle