How Do I Lots Of Questions.

Brian Knowles

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Alright so I acquired a 75 gallon tanks for little of nothing from a friend. I have a 125 cichlid tank well established and doing well, and even have a few youngsters we recently found that are doing surprisingly well. I have a 45 that we "planted" several months ago with just your basic novice plants, and it is doing very well. Very "low tech", So with this tank I wanted to do something all together different. My plans are to do CO2 and some sort of plant substrate. Being an absolute novice, I have researched for days, and the more I look I realize the reviews or comments ALL have some bad and good things said about them. It gets very confusing to me and leaves me with a less than comfortable feeling of my potential choices. Some say such things such as eco complete or Amazonia is not necessary, and even go as far as to say some are even marketing robbery. Some say just gravel works, others sand.:nailbiting:
At the end of the day I want a high tech tank that works. Budget is certainly not endless, but is fairly generous

So far the one thing I do know is I am going to use a 5lb CO2 Cylinder (I am a manager of 2 high pressure CO2 plants, so CO2 is an endless supply, as we make literally 1000 tons a day.)

Comments/suggestion on these items, are certainly welcome. I'm thick skinned, criticism is a form of learning.

First question,
Reactor or atomizer....necessary? If so, one or both? If only one which is better.
Diffusor....location in tank for most dispersion?

Substrate: If I ended up using something like eco complete will a sand cap work? I prefer sand, but worry over time it will "migrate into the sand, or is gravel better?
I know this is a LOT of open ended questions, feel free to educate me on the things I don't know.

My dad told me one time..."a man just don't know what a man doesn't know"......how true!!!!!!!!

Fahn

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Substrate: