Lots of questions about cleaning & maintance Help

1. mkmallory3 Initiate Member

Hello, I have had my tank since August 2009. I am new to all of this!! SO I need some advise. I have lots of uestions:
    1. What can I use to clean the inside glass of the tank?
    2. Everyone is talking about water changes. I have only added water to my tank thus far. How often should I be changing the water? And I use the Tetra Safe water conditioner, do I add enough for the amount of new water or enough for the entire tank (10 gallons)?
    3. Filters.....I was told that once a week I could pull the blue filter out and rinse the filter. Is that enough of should I be doing something else?
    4. Everyone is talking about "testing" the water, and "cycles". I don't test my water thus far. How important is testing, and what product should I get?
    5. How many fish can I keep in my tank? Of the fish that I currently have only two have much color. People that look at my tank only think I have two fish. BUt really I have the 2 Platy's / 1 Zebra Danio / 3 Neon Tetra / 1 Skunk Cory Catfish. I want my atnk to look beautiful and colorful!!!!!
    Thanks for any help that I can get! This was my sons present but I have become the one that is getting really involved in this tank!!!

2. Meenu Fishlore VIP Member

hi welcome to fishlore.

The nitrogen cycle is basically this (you should read this link as well):
    Your tank has ammonia from the waste the fish produce. The beneficial bacteria living on the surface of your gravel and filter media eats the ammonia, changing it to nitrite. Another beneficial bacteria converts that into nitrates.

Any amount of ammonia or nitrites can be lethal to fish. A small amount of nitrates are fine (5-20). Once your tank is cycled, it means you have enough benefical bacteria growing to eat all the ammonia and nitrites, making your tank a healthy place to live. Your readings should be 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and 5-20 nitrates.