Lots Of Algae?

SammiW003

Hi, I've been on this forum since January which is when I got my betta, Stormrage! I'm still new to some things and while I've asked this question before, it hasn't resolved within my tank. I have an algae problem. Algae will grow on all sides of the tank in between water changes and it's infuriating. I've closed the blinds as much as I can (I have plants on the windowsill), I've tried to keep his tank light on for only 8 hours, and his tank had been up and running since January so I don't think it would be because it's cycling. I ALWAYS have a problem detecting nitrate with the liquid testing kit though (idk if I'm doing it wrong). Could I just have really low nitrate levels? Everything else is zero.

I recently moved back home and I decided to put Storm in the basement so he wouldn't get sunlight. I've been turning his lights on at 12 and, except. for last night, turning them off around 8-9. His tank temp was low but now it's 80-80.5 degrees in there. He's been down there for a week and still has algae. Some algae has little bubbles on it though. Can anyone give me advice?

Side Question: I feel bad for Stormrage being down there alone for most of the day. Does anyone know if fish like to listen to music? I'm thinking about leaving classical music on when he's down there so he doesn't feel lonely.

Tiny_Tanganyikans

Pictures would help, it depends on the type of algae for a solution

Chaory

Either leave the lights off or only on for a few hours. You can also get a lighting fixture that has multiple light dimming settings, like the USA Current Satellite.

VoldaFisch

U can use some algae fix and only have the lights on for 8 hours a day and that with help

cc328

If you can scrub it off that might help. Even if you have to do a 100% water chance and scrub the whole tank and everything in it that might help (maybe boil gravel or do a bleach dip?). That would help to eliminate the already existing algae.