Losing Fish

chipster55

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
have been losing fish on a daily basis. All water readings are excellent. Ammonia-0, nitrite-0, Nitrate-5 PH-7.6. I have attached a couple pics of silver dollars with spots on them. I have absolutely no clue why my fish are dying. I have another 55 gallon at myoffice so while not an expert I have some knowledge of fish-keeping. The tank I am having a problem with is a 75 gallon with a cascade canister filter.

skippi

Reaction score
Chipster, it sounds and almost looks like you have ick. Do the dots look like salt granules on your fish?? If they do then you have ick. There is an awesome chart that isabella found linked to this site you can look up treatment options there. I believe that you raise the temp of the water to like 84ish and then treat them with medication. Someone like butterfly or isabella will answer and give you more help though. hang in there..

Heidi

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Your water seems very good Chipster, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and only 5 nitrate ... hmm. Looks like water quality is not the cause of the problem. I can't see the spots well but I CAN nevertheless see them. If they're grain-like, rather than cottony, it is ich. Ich usually occurs from ammonia or nitrite poisoning, and it may occur if nitrate is too high. I suppose it can also be brought with new fish from a fish store, as any other disease. On the chart I have listed, as SkippI has said, there are instructions on what medications to use in case of ich.

Did you perhaps have a sudden temperature drop or increase in your tank lately? Or a sudden pH drop or increase? These could have had an impact on your fish. How often do you perform water changes and how large are they?