Losing fish in high tech aquarium

Crumpy141

Reaction score
HI everyone

Sorry if this shouldn't go here, just looking for advice as I am losing fish almost every other day.

I have a 5ft 500l tank
2 external filters. JBL 901 and fluval 406
Injecting co2 using a ceramic in tank diffuser.
Co2 comes on 1 hour before the lights
Lights are on for 8 hours
Co2 and lights both turn off together
I have a ph monitor in the tank and every morning the monitor is reading about 7.4 and I'm injecting (in my opinion) a lot of co2. I am averaging more than 5 bubbles a second and no matter what I do the co2 drop checker never moves from blue.

By the time my lights are due to go off my ph reader is showing 6.8

I did a KH test which turned yellow after 4 drops.

Is everything ok? Am I stressing over nothing and just have poor stock? Or is something going wrong somewhere?

Attachments

TWiG87

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I’m still no expert and not very familiar with CO2 injection, but aren’t large ph swings (greater than .2 in 24hrs) stressful and even potentially fatal for fish?

OP
C

Crumpy141

Reaction score
coralbandit said:
Something is up that your DC doesn't change color .
It is changing but barely. It has never been green since I set this tank up over 8 months agi

saltwater60

Well Known
Reaction score
KH seems in the low side to me. Maybe try bringing that up a bit and it would stabilize tour ph. I don’t think that ph swing is that bad though.

OP
C

Crumpy141

Reaction score
saltwater60 said:
KH seems in the low side to me. Maybe try bringing that up a bit and it would stabilize tour ph. I don’t think that ph swing is that bad though.
I thought our water was quite hard to be honest, perhaps not, how should I safely raise my KH? would that affect the CO2 test colour?

H Farnsworth

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
It’s probably the ph swing and over time it’s weakening your fish.

Inner10

Well Known
Reaction score