Question Looking For The Startup Costs Of A 20g Tank Long?

todd2

Reaction score
Looking to start up a 20g long reef tank but was wondering how much this tank would cost? I am completely new to saltwater and don’t have any equipment I was just wondering how much everything would cost?

PoorBigBlue

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Well, assuming you already own the tank, here's a list of stuff you'll probably need:

2 Koralia Nano 425's (or similar powerheads): $50
1 Aquaclear 70 (for running media/fuge): $40
100W Aqueon Pro Adjustable Heater: $30
Aragonite Sand (15 lbs): $18
Dry Rock (what I recommend for a first tank): $60, or Live rock: $120
Lighting (I don't have a good estimate here, but I'll use a DIY light for a good price estimate): $150 Minimum
Bucket of Instant Ocean Reef Crystals: $55
Refractometer (cheap one off of Ebay): $20
API Master Saltwater Kits (you really want Salifert and Red Sea, but API is a good gateway for people coming from freshwater): $22
RO/DI system: $80 (if you can find one used)

I can't think of much else, so the total price comes to $525 for a dry rock option, or around $580 for a live rock option. That isn't counting a clean-up crew, any coral, or any fish. My prices may be a little off, but you're looking at several hundred dollars to get the tank up and running and ready for coral.

If the price isn't an issue, have a look around and research before you buy. It can save you a lot of heartache later!

Maybe @stella1979 can be of help - she has a stunning 20 long, and can recommend powerheads and lights better than I can.

Jesterrace

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year