Looking for the basic info on starting a SW tank.

capekate

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hi Folks,
I have only kept FW tanks up til now and my husband and I are thinking of starting a SW tank. We have a new 55g tank that is ready to go. There is not a whole lot about saltwater fish keeping that I know of. So I am a total newbie in this dept.
Im looking for info on the basic set up equipment needed.. and a little info on LR or reef set ups? And anything else any one would like to add. This is still in the research faze of the project so Im just looking for basic info to start with and can go from there..
Thanks all and have a great evening!

Shawnie

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
hi kate!!!!!!!!! I hope you get the info you need
nice to see you around!

capekate

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hi Shawnie..
Thanks! ohh btw, I apologies for having been logged on for days on end.. Last time I was here, I thought I had logged out. jeesh..
Ive been researching the forum and the SW beginner's sections..
Ohh boy... its like reading a foreign language! yikes!...
This is going to take awhile... a LOOOONg while lol..

zeeter

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I bought a book called Saltwater Aquariums for Dummies and it really helped a lot. You can pick up a lot of things from here and other sites, but I found it easier to read about the basics first, and then use that to get advice from the folks on here.

Basic equipment:
Filter: you'll need biological and mechanical, and most people use chemical, as well. Live rock can be used as your biological filter. More later...
Protein Skimmer: helps get rid of a lot of the fish excrement and other things.
Live Rock: Fish like live rock to hide in. It also is the perfect place for beneficial bacteria to build up - thus providing you with biological filtration. For a 55 gallon you'll need around 80 lbs or so.