Looking for rare interesting compatable fish! What do I get???

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish and Invertebrates' started by teddybear22482, May 22, 2006.

1. teddybear22482Valued MemberMember

Im starting a new freshwater tank. 29 gallon. Im looking for some fish that are not your everyday fish. Maybe a greenspotted puffer or figure 8 puffer. What do you guys think? I want to stock my tank with unusual fish and need compatable fish. Im very open to any suggestions. Ive been doing freshwater for 5 yrs so but alway 10 gallon because of the space and the fact that I didnt have time to take care of a large tank or 2 tanks...lol...Im very excited!

2. ChristopherNew MemberMember

puffer fish are kewl but they are little devils. They eat everything and if they can't fit it in their mouth then they take bites out of them. So i wouldn't recomend puffer fish.unless they are by themsevles.

But some interesting fish are African Butterfly ;D, Baby Whale, Archer fish or an upside down catfish. That is all I can think of right now if I think of anything else I will let you know.

Good luck with your new tank ;D

3. chickadeeFishlore VIPMember

Are you wanting to stay with Freshwater Tropical fish?

Rose
    :)

4. teddybear22482Valued MemberMember

Yes Id like to stay with freshwater. Im basically looking for some fish that are relatively hardy, but not alot of people have...either expensive or rare.

5. MarcWell Known MemberMember

Killifish! Flagfish, Panchax, etc... Pretty rare as they aren't too commonly bred/kept except by enthusiasts.

6. ncjeValued MemberMember

I saw a beutiful bunch of killis at my lfs last weekend.

7. GunnieWell Known MemberMember

Spend some time on   to see what's available, and you may possibly get very lucky in finding a local breeder. Also, look for a local fish club or aquarium society in your area to meet other hobbyists and see what's available locally. ;)

8. teddybear22482Valued MemberMember

Great Ideas, Thanks very much everyone! ;)