Looking for info on breeding angelfish :)

1. platy ben Well Known Member Member

Hello every body :)

Here is the agenda, I currently have a 45G tank with baby koi in and I have been thinking of what to use this tank for once the koi go into the pond after the winter, I have had many ideas go through my head but I have decided what I definitly want to do :D
    Breed angelfish :D

However, I have never tried breeding these before so I need all of the information I can get.

First off, here are my questions,

1) I want to get a group of 4 angels, 5 at the most, and put them all into the 45G and let them grow together, hopefully forming atleast one pair. I want to put one of my 2 angels I have in the 72G into the tank, however he will be about 3 times the size of the new comers, will he be too big for them?

2) I want to buy all of the angels at the same time, however I do not want to get all of them from the same tank at the LFS because this will likely be a group of siblings, so I would like to buy each baby from a different tank at the store. However if I do this I will have to get a mixture of colour types, if any at all, which colour types are suitable to breed together?

3) Final question, below I have posted a picture of my 2 angels I have at the moment, however one of them does not seem to be growing as fast as the other, so am I right in saying that I should not breed this angel.
    The one I am talking about is the one higher in the pic and the one below is the one I want to breed, the lower angel is around 6 months younger than the higher angel, however he is bigger.
    Picture 019.jpg

Thanks,
    Ben

2. platy ben Well Known Member Member

Another question,

I have just been reading a commercial angelfish breeders tips and he says that angels with any defects, such as bad fins, missing body parts, not swimming properly, must be culled and removed from the hobby.
    It sounds a bit extreme, is it really neccesary?