Looking For Fish Ideas For 55 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Richelle, Apr 10, 2018.

1. Richelle

RichelleNew MemberMember

Hello,

I'm fairly new to having an aquarium, and we recently upgraded to a 55 gallon aquarium.
    We currently have
    2 angel fish (one is small),
    4 guppies,
    7 tetras,
    1 peacock dwarf guorami,
    3 swordtails
    2 odessa barbs
    3 loaches

So my question, are we done? Can we add more? If so, any recommendations of what would be a good fit?

2. ystrout

ystroutWell Known MemberMember

You cycled your tank already, right?

I'd say you should let your tank run with the current load for a while.

3. OP
    OP
    Richelle

RichelleNew MemberMember

Thanks, and yes, we did. I wouldn't get any right away, but more wondering size wise if more would be advisable at all? And if so, what anyone would recommend.

4. krohner5

krohner5New MemberMember

Is it a planted tank? How is the algae level looking with your current setup?

5. OP
    OP
    Richelle

RichelleNew MemberMember

Yes it's planted. No algae.

Here's a pic of the tank

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2018
  6. ystrout

Your tank looks really nice.

You should be able to tell if there's enough room for more fish depending on how everyone acts. If it always looks crowded in there and it looks like no one is relaxed, no more fish. I think angels can be territorial too. If there's plenty of space and it doesn't seem hectic, you can probably add more. You also have to weigh in your bio-load which is actually more important. Test your nitrates after a water change then again a week later. If you're seeing a big jump in nitrates, you probably don't want to put more fish in there. If you see a net decrease in nitrates week after week, you are good to add more fish.