Long string of fish poop

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Nanjo4, Aug 2, 2015.

1. Nanjo4Valued MemberMember

Help, please! Came home tonight and my male platy has a string of poop about an inch long attached to him. What does this mean? What should I do? I am pretty new to keeping fish and have a lot to learn! Thanks for being here.

2. jdhef

jdhefModeratorModerator Member

While embarrassing for the fish, it's normal.

3. happyfins14Valued MemberMember

Agree with jdhef, don't worry unless he looks bloated :)

4. ClearEyes

ClearEyesWell Known MemberMember

If it's persistent, it might be constipation. Blanch a frozen pea in boiling water for a couple minutes, peel off the skin, mush it up a bit and feed it that. Your other fish will enjoy it too. At least, mine did.

5. Joshua Drake

Joshua DrakeWell Known MemberMember

As others have said, it's fairly normal for fish to poop, I would just pay attention and see how long it stays on him. If it's stuck, it's most likely constipation, which you can do what was suggested with peas, you should also consider that perhaps you are overfeeding. Good luck!

6. wiedowValued MemberMember

What color Is it? (White or brown?

Sent from my HUAWEI Y536A1 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

7. OP
    OP
    N

Nanjo4Valued MemberMember

Thanks to all of you for the great information. It's gone this morning. I will feed peas for breakfast! Well just one pea. To answer a couple of questions, it was brown. And I think I am over feeding and need to stop doing that. It's just that the danios attack the food like sharks and I think the platy isn't getting any, so I put in some extra.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

8. Joshua Drake

Joshua DrakeWell Known MemberMember