Long Guppy Pregnancy

AJE

I have a guppy and I think she’s pregnant, she has been pregnant for about 6 weeks, she has also been in a diy Breeder box for about a week, what’s wrong? Is she even pregnant?

Lorekeeper

That looks sort of like a male to me, although it's hard to tell without a better picture.

AJE

I am new to this but I thought that dark spot was a pregnancy sign thanks

Lorekeeper

It usually is, but not always.

Just by going with coloration and the body shape of the fish, I'd say male.

AJE

Th
Lorekeeper said:
It usually is, but not always.

Just by going with coloration and the body shape of the fish, I'd say male.
anks

I will try to get a better picture later

If it matters the dot also changes shades from black to gray and gets bigger and smaller, but then again I am new

aussieJJDude

Its a male. Females aren't as brightly coloured unless injected with hormones - which make them sterile.

Mcasella

aussieJJDude said:
Its a male. Females aren't as brightly coloured unless injected with hormones - which make them sterile.
From pet stores they aren't likely to be as colorful, however many guppy lines now have females with intense color, however they normally do not have spots along the body.

AJE

Lorekeeper said:
That looks sort of like a male to me, although it's hard to tell without a better picture.
Since you
Lorekeeper said:
That looks sort of like a male to me, although it's hard to tell without a better picture.[/QUOT
Lorekeeper said:
Lorekeeper said:
I released hem/her back into the tank and my other guppy immediately started attacking him/her so I put he/she back in his/her breeder box. Why did my other guppy start attacking it? He didn’t do this befor.

trash.binh91

Looks like a male still

Lorekeeper

Definitely still a male.

As far as the attacking, the guppy might see it as an intruder. Guppies (and other livebearers that are popular) can be extremely aggressive at times.

AJE

trash.binh91 said:
Looks like a male still
Do males