Loner Guppy?

1. amber0107 Well Known Member Member

I bought 4 male guppies last week to go into my cycled 10 gallon. Three of them hang out together 90% of the time, however one of them hangs by himself a bunch either near the top corner or at the back. I took him out a minute ago to see if I could get a clear picture to see if there is anything wrong with him. I'm new to guppies, so I want to say that his top fin looks maybe a bit fuzzy? I'll attach some pictures shortly so maybe someone else can give me a better understanding as to if he's simply a loner or if he's sick.

[​IMG] (he's the one in the center)

[​IMG] Close up shot.

(I have a 2.5 gallon I can put him in if you think it's safer. These were all from the same store and added at the same time.)

[​IMG] Here's a closer shot.

2. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

Yes, I would definitely put it in the 2.5 for observation. Fish that are forced to the corner of the tank are not well.

3. amber0107 Well Known Member Member

That's what I thought. Should I do anything but observe right now? I can't tell what's wrong, if anything, so should I just wait and see or does someone see something I dont?

4. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

I would wait and see....could just be the result of being bullied. At least once it's separated you can act quickly once you determine what needs to be done.

How easy was it for you to net the fish? I'm not inquiring about your skill :), but rather about the evasive actions the fish took in the process.

5. amber0107 Well Known Member Member

Well, compared to netting my otocinclus a month ago, it was a piece of cake. :) It tried hiding at the bottom and around a plant, but I netted it within a minute.

Now that's he's in the 2.5 under a light, it appears something on his back near his top fin is standing out, kinda fuzzy. At first I thought his scales were standing out, but now it just appears something is raised. I'm trying to get a better picture but it's tricky.