Livebearers breeding - any help appreciated

guppies galore
Hi, I am new at this livebearers breeding. I had 2 female guppies, 1 male guppy, 3 female platies, and 2 male platies. One of my guppies gave birth to 9 fry. I moved them into a 10 gallon aquarium, and they are doing wonderful. Yet the mother died. The other female guppy appears pregnant. As well as 2 of the platies.

My question is, the female guppy whom appears pregnant is huge. I actually thought she would give birth before the other female. In 2 days that will be 3 weeks ago. I do a 25% water change weekly. The pet store told me to increase my water temperature 2 degrees to speed it up, and I have tried that but still nothing. She just looks like she is ready to pop open. I want to try to save as many fry as I can, so any help would be appreciated. Does anyone have any answers? ???

Chief_waterchanger
Don't fret about the guppies/platies looking like they will absolutely explode in the tank. That is actually pretty common. The guppies gestation period is 28-32 days normally. However, they are able to hold their spawns for upwards of 6 months if they feel conditions in the tank are too unsafe.

Guppies also stay looking large after they have had the fry, so it could be possible that she dropped already but the others ate them. If your tank has little in the way of plants I would suggest getting guppy grass, as well as a plant you can put in a small pot with basic top soil and a layer of rocks (to keep soil in pot rather than spread through the tank). The more plants the fry have to hide among the more of a chance the females will goahead and drop.

As per my experience with all of the guppies I have, once the females have dropped a batch or two of fry they tend to not have a problem in the future with holding back the fry, even if plants are removed. I would suggest the plants stay though.