Live Rock Question

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by timon4, Mar 27, 2010.

1. timon4

timon4 New Member Member

Hi, I am new to FishLore, and it looks like a great place to ask fellow enthusiast questions. I am about to purchase a 30 or 50 gallon tank to ensure this is the hobby for me, and was curious if there were different types of live rock, or is live rock just rock with life intergrated within it?

2. d

dee34 Valued Member Member

:;hi1hi and welcome to fishlore , live rock can be cured or uncured .probably best to get cured live rock !

3. nate21887

nate21887 Valued Member Member

live rock comes in all kinds of types, varies on the region it was harvested from

4. zeeter

zeeter Well Known Member Member

Live rock isn't called that due to the life in it, though live rock can have hitchhikers on it - usually baddies like enormous bristle worms. The benefits of live rock are that you have a place for the fish to hide and interact with, plus it works as an excellent biological filter. The live rock will house beneficial bacteria that will help your tank. The recommended amount of LR is 1.5 lbs per tank gallon (60 lbs for a 40 gallon tank, for example). There are other benefits of live rock, as well. It looks nice once it collects coralline algae, and it is a good way to landscape your tank with regards of where to put corals and things like that.