Live rock questions Question 

Rhodes1983

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello I’m a newbie to the Saltwater world. I have a 55 gallon tank and was wondering do I have to buy all live rock at the same time, or can I buy them as time goes on and finances allow me to purchase them?

Jesterrace

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
The biggest thing to understand is that there are several options to go with in regards to live rock. You can go with regular live rock which has lots of established biolife and generally cycles the fastest, but is arguably the most expensive option and it comes with a fairly high risk of pests (ie Aiptasia, Xanthid Crabs, Vermatid Snails, Mantis Shrimp, Fireworms and Bristleworms to name a few).

You can go with dry rock which is cheaper (usually $2-$3 per lb). It's completely dead and will generally take longer to cycle but has the added benefit of being generally pest free.

You can also go with the newer option and go Man Made (ie Caribsea Life Rock) as this is cured rock that has a dormant bacteria coating that becomes active when in saltwater. It's purple colored and is pest free albeit a bit more expensive in the $4 range, but still generally cheaper than regular live rock.

The reason I bring this up is so folks know their options with advantages and disadvantages. To answer your question though, yes you could gradually add live rock/dry rock/man made over time, but the downside is that the rock being added isn't cycled (keep in mind it's your biofilter and it all needs to go through the nitrogen cycle) so you would have to cycle it separately in something like a garbage can to ensure it is good to be added to the tank. Also consider that a major rockwork addition and rearrangement is very stressful on whatever fish or inverts you might have in there.