lighting

1. Dyno252 Initiate Member

Can someone please answer this for me I'm very new in this hobby. So i just bought a Deep Blue Solarmax HE 230 light system for my tank, now it has two bulbs one is a T5 Actinic-D3 lamp and the other is a T5 10,000K Daytime lamp. Am i suppose to have both lights on at the same time, or just one?

2. JessiNoel21 Well Known Member Member

I believe that having both on can overheat the tank. I think the daylight light is for the day and other can be used at night.

3. Lexi03 Well Known Member Member

Those bulbs are for a reef tank, they will do little for a freshwater tank. Are you trying to grow plants? If so I would switch the blue bulb out for a plant growing bulb or another daytime bulb if you can find one. Is this fixture a T5NO or a T5HO?

4. catsma_97504 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore!

Is this a freshwater or saltwater tank you are setting up? I'm asking because I see you posted a similar thread in the freshwater forum: https://www.fishlore.com/fishforum/freshwater-beginners/116803-lighting.html.

If you wouldn't mind, please provide complete Aquarium Profile Information. This information will help the members to gain an understanding of your tank. Just click the My Settings button at the top of this page, and select Edit Aquarium Info. Complete the information on your aquarium, including tank size, filtration, stocking, lighting, water parameters, etc. And save your changes. Then you won't be inundated with answering questions about your tank.

5. pitbull_nc Member Member

If it is saltwater that you are setting up one light can be used for coral but I dont know if that is what you are setting up.

6. Dyno252 Initiate Member

ok i have up dated my tank information now

7. catsma_97504 Fishlore Legend Member

Thank you for updating your aquarium info. As we now know you have a saltwater tank, I have merged your threads in the saltwater forum to avoid confusion.

8. Dyno252 Initiate Member