Lighting Recommendation

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by mmp4, Apr 15, 2017.

1. m

mmp4 Valued Member Member

2. Ed204

Ed204 Well Known Member Member

Hi there,
    Not a plant expert but I believe that all the plants that you mentioned are quite low maintenance plants.
    Most of the plants are low light as well, not to sure about the Jungle Val though.

As I said above, I'm not a plant expert so I don't know exactly what lighting to get, but someone more experienced in plant keeping can help you out.

Best of Luck!

3. OP
    OP
    m

Thanks

4. B

Betrayer Well Known Member Member

I would be interested to see what lights are recommended too. I'm planning to switch my 29-gallon over to fully planted in a couple of weeks. I will follow along :)

5. Dragones5150918

Dragones5150918 Well Known Member Member

On my 29g, I use 3 clamp on desk lamps with 6,500k CFL lights. Inside my tank i have java moss, anubis, westeria, moss balls, hornwart, bacopa, and a couple of pothose cuttings. As you see I have a jungle in my tank.

[​IMG]

You could also go with the florescent plant tubes or plant LED. CFL works as long as it's 5,000k or higher. I recommend for better plant growth 6,500k

6. OP
    OP
    m

I saw led lights like beamswork and nicrew but Im not sure how good they actually are.

7. dcutl002

dcutl002 Well Known Member Member

Depends on how much you are willing to spend. The CFL option as posted above by @Dragones5150918 is definitely doable and will grow what you listed.

If you want LEDs you could try:
    1. Finnex planted plus ($80 on Amazon), Amazon.com : Finnex FugeRay Planted+ Aquarium LED Light Plus Moonlights, 20-Inch : Pet Supplies
    2. Planted Plus with controller, Amazon.com : Finnex Planted+ 24/7 Fully Automated Aquarium LED, Controller, 20 Inch : Pet Supplies
    3. Current USA Freshwater LED+ ($80), Amazon.com : Current USA Satellite Freshwater LED Plus Light for Aquarium, 18 to 24-Inch : Pet Supplies