Lighting question

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by Cody6511, Apr 20, 2010.

1. Cody6511Valued MemberMember

If anyone can offer advice i'd really appreciate it!
    So i just bought 3 bunches of hygrophilia angustisfolia and I ordered some dwarf hairgrass. My lighting is currently 2 15W 8000k T8 bulbs and i am using Flourish brand fertalizer. I have only a plain gravel substrate, nothing with any additives. Is this sufficient or should i be heading to the store?

Thanks!!!

2. dvc_rValued MemberMember

Although there is more to it (ie watts per gal)
    Most Hygrophilia need med to high light. I would say ranging from 2.5 to 3.5 watts per gal. If it's true, you have 30 watts in a 55 gal... that's about .5 watts per gal.

I have no experience with Dwarf hairgrass (although I would like to) but I believe they need the same light requirements.

... Drive safely...

3. Cody6511Valued MemberMember

Haha so a trip it is! Thanks for the advice! Is the plain gravel ok also?

4. NutterFishlore VIPMember

Your definitely going to need more light to grow those plants in a 50gal. Minimum 1.5wpg for the Hygro & you should be looking at a minimum 3wpg for the Hairgrass. That's going to require ferts & supplementing co2. Hairgrass can be ok in gravel but it needs to be of a pretty fine diameter. If the gravel is much bigger than match head size it will have trouble spreading out & forming a thick carpet. Using substrate fertilisers is mandatory with Hairgrass in a gravel substrate.

5. Cody6511Valued MemberMember

Ok I have some fertalizer tablets on the way so ill use those definately! I also bought 2 new Power-glo 18000k lights today. I am having trouble finding high watt bulbs. any suggestions? I only have spots available for 2 18" bulbs.

6. Nate McFinWell Known MemberMember