Let me introduce myself...

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by McFly, Jul 30, 2015.

1. McFly

McFly Valued Member Member

I've been poking around a bit, and found some interesting reading, so I joined.

Real name is Marty, 'McFly' is a long time nickname, so I use it on some forums as well.
    I've been running various aquariums for over 30 years when time and 'life' allows. I've set up
    from 10 gallons to 120 gallons, both fresh and salt water, including a 120 gallon reef set up.

I currently have an aging 55 gallon glass tank I reluctantly bought used, but it's my first tank in several
    years, so the price was right... and the glass is lightly etched (clouded) but I'm still enjoying
    the hobby, as I save for a new acrylic 90 gallon and stand. This tank has been running for about
    2-3 years, and until a month ago was a Malawi Cichlid tank. Love the cichlids... active, colorful
    and not too expensive. Unfortunately, we had a new floor installed, and the tank had to come down,
    the fish went back to the store... sigh.

With the floor in, and the baseboard moldings done (ugh) I put the tank back up, and decided to go
    back to my roots.... freshwater community... it's where we all started (at least 99% of us) and I think
    the set up will be entertaining and eye catching when done.

Running a tad over two weeks, this tank is presenting new challenges. To keep water temps down
    (Live in Florida) I'm running an evaporative cooling set up this time, with good results. Water has
    held at 73* with an average room temp of 78*. Evaporating water means fewer actual water changes
    once the 'real' fish go in. LED lighting helps keep things cooler too.

Soooo... that's me, and where I'm at. :;hi2

2. BornThisWayBettas

BornThisWayBettas Fishlore VIP Member