LED Lights? Question 

Theepum

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I am in the process of setting up a 70g. tank, however I hate the look (and always have) of the t-5/t-8 tubes.

I am an electrician and they are always the cheapest/easiest fix - probably why I hate them so much!

I am wanting to do some primary lighting at the top with some accent lighting - maybe buried in the sand, etc., hopefully using some leds (dont worry I won't shock my fish)

My question is, what kind of lighting do fish need? and does it vary with what you have in the tank? or is the lighting more of a general lighting?

I've read about for a planted tank there is a suggested watt/gallon rating that you need, I would also like a few live plants in there eventually, but again, those lights aren't replacing the sun, and unless i'm way off (still new to the live plants thing...) they don't grow off of the light provided... so it that more to do with the lumens per gallon (watt is measure of pwr - lumen is measure of light)

LED would save huge on the electric bill also...

any and all corrections on the matter are greatly appreciated!

Nutter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
If you want plants eventually, save your effort & just go with the fluoros. The lights are in fact replacing the sun in your aquarium, they just don't have the same sort of intensitry. There is still a minimum intensity for each plant species though & if you don't achieve that you won't get plants to grow. The lights provide energy for the plants to convert nutrients into plant matter. Without enough energy the plant can't use the food you provide & they will eventually die.