Large Ghost Shrimp Safe With Pygmy Corys?

Kyle Holmes

Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I'm pretty new to keeping fish, but for about two months now I've been figuring out my tank setup mostly through trial and error.

I thought I did all my research after I saw a 2" ghost shrimp for sale at one of my favourite local pet stores. Everything I read indicated that ghost shrimp are totally safe with corys and that I shouldn't be worried, if anything I'd need to be more concerned for the shrimp.

So a week later (today) I went back and picked him up. He was alone in a tank with tons of fancy guppies, and there were several dead ones at the bottom but LOTS of alive and feisty ones as well. He was the only shrimp besides the feeders which they sell in units of ten (no exceptions, according to all the very aggressive signs about the feeders lol). And ten is way too many for what I've got going on.

I have a 10G 20" tank with 6 albino corys (3-4 are sterbai's, the rest I think are regular aneus), 6 pygmy corys and a female crowntail betta (also yes, I know I'm stocked pretty heavily stocked for a 10 gallon. I live in Hawaii and I'll be moving off island before the end of the year and my mom will be adopting the tank and all the fish, except 2-3 of the sterbai's which I'm taking with me, so at that point it'll be stocked correctly for her to manage, and for now I'm fine doing 40-50% water changes every couple days. So far my readings have remained stable)
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10-20