Large Female Guppy Fluctuates Between Looking Pregnant Then Not...

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Biovetscientist, Apr 12, 2017.

1. B

Biovetscientist New Member Member

Hi,

Bit of background about myself... although I count myself as a novice fish keeper, I have a degree in Bioveterinary science so I am well acquainted with the nitrogen cycle and did a lot of research about water quality and habitat preferences of my fish. I did buy 4 false neon tetras before doing as much research and so my water is possibly too hard for them (GH 11). They are healthy and showing bright colours so I will be purchasing 6 more to have a proper school but I will take care not to do anything to increase the hardness any further.

I have had 2 female guppies and 1 male guppy for around 6 weeks now. The yellow female dropped 2 fry just over 3 weeks ago (they have been moved to a 5 gallon for now and doing well) so she was clearly already pregnant. She looks like she will drop fry again in the next 7-10 days so no concerns about her.