Large Betta Community Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Klokow, Apr 16, 2019.

1. KlokowNew MemberMember

Hi people! Hope you are all doing well! I am new to Fishlore so if I missed a similar thread, sorry for that.

I love Bettas and I was wondering if it would work setting up a 29 gallon community tank with a Betta?

I did some research and found a few good tank mates that can live with a Betta. I am fully aware that a Betta can live alone but i do not have the space to keep two tanks running for a longer period of time.

So I thought of setting up a planted community tank with my current male Betta with the following:

4 Peppered Cory Catfish
    2 Kuhli Loaches
    10 Neon Tetra
    Some Galaxy Rasbora
    And a few snails (i was thinking mystery snails)

I already have a few Cory catfish with my betta in my current tank and he is not bothered at all by them.

Thank you for any response!

2. nikm128Fishlore VIPMember

Go for it, all I'd change is getting Nerite snails instead of the mystery snails. Mystery's are really messy

3. KlokowNew MemberMember

Thank you for your reply! I just did some reading up on them and they look like a better option than mystery's.

4. firesflighttWell Known MemberMember

hi, welcome to fishlore!

if your betta is already fine with those cories, i imagine that it would be alright to have him in a community environment. but always be ready to move him back if he snaps!

5. KlokowNew MemberMember

Thank you for the advice! I was also thinking of keeping my smaller 8 gallon running to put him back if he shows any sign of aggresion

6. AngryRainbowValued MemberMember

Just wanted to chime in and say that kuhli loaches should be kept in larger groups, typically 6+ is recommended. They're shy little fish, but get a bit more adventurous in groups and are great fun to watch