Kribensis Male Or Female

ponitboss

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
The first look like male to me going by the top fin is long and pointed the second may be Male also but need better picture but I'm no expert

chromedome52

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Both males. Long, pointed ventral fins. Only way to dependably sex the species of Genus Pelvicachromis.

angelcraze

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
My male kribs had a slight pinkish belly, not like the female, but a bit. The red edging on the fins and pointy dorsal and caudal was the easiest way to distinguish. But first pic was hard to see fins.

Redshark1

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
When I kept these in the 70s there was NEVER any doubt about the sex of these fish because male and female looked so different.

What has happened to them since then?

In my opinion they have had 90% of the beauty bred out of them.

Farming promotes quantity over quality, for economic reasons.

chromedome52

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
When I kept these in the 70s there was NEVER any doubt about the sex of these fish because male and female looked so different.

What has happened to them since then?

In my opinion they have had 90% of the beauty bred out of them.

Farming promotes quantity over quality, for economic reasons.