Koi with Tropical fish! Important 

ViridiosExotics

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Here is a video I found of Koi living with Oscars, Barbs and other tropical fish.
They seem happy and healthy.
I do not see the problem? Koi come from China were it is very HOT and you seem them in tropical ponds along side gouramis!

does this prove they can live together?

TedsTank

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Koi are not much more than fancy carp. Yes they can live in warm water, and cold water. If they are in a pond all is well.

Koi grow fast and large!!

I personally believe that Koi have no place in an aquarium, unless it is very, very large. Koi babies of course could be kept in a tank for a short time...before stunting.

I have been keeping Koi for 13 years now and they need a lot of room.

Koi live alongside all kinds of fish....the key is room for them to grow...same as "tropical" fish. You can expect Koi to get 2 to 3 feet in size, relatively quickly....in some cases even larger depending on the breeding.

ViridiosExotics

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
OK say some one had a tank large enough to house Koi, in theory could you keep them with tropical fish in a warm water tank?

Aquarist

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
https://www.fishlore.com/profiles-koi.htm

Good morning. I don't recommend Koi to be kept in the home aquarium. They need hundreds of gallon per fish in order to thrive.

Check out the link above.

+2 on Ted's comments.

Ken

trailblazer295

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Out of curiosity it said they should be in ponds 1000gallons or bigger. But didn't say how many could fit in a 1000gallons, which isn't useful if you have say a 1000gal pond but are trying to figure out how many koi you can add.

DaroRs

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello where is the video? Sorry but I'm pretty new here I don't find it...