Killer Filter?

Jack D
Hello all,

I am brand new to freshwater aquariums and created an account specifically for this issue:

Four days ago I purchased an Aqueon 10 gallon tank with filter and heater. After 48 hrs of cycling I added two aquatic plants and a Betta. The next morning I came down and the Betta was trapped in my filter. I dislodged him, but he died shortly therafter.

Visiting the pet store, today, the employee tested my water and all levels came out in the normal range. He said we could try another Betta, and we also purchased three Harlequin Tetras. We floated the tetras and they seemed to adjust to the tank quite well, schooling together within 15 minutes. Fast forward to two hrs later...

TWO OF THE TETRAS ARE TRAPPED AGAINST THE FILTER AND ARE DEAD.

What is going on here? My filter has now trapped and killed three fish in a 12 hr period. I don't want to kill any more fish... please help!

jess3434
First off, there is no such fish as a harlequin tetra. Secondly, a filter takes way longer than 2 days to cycle if it is brand new. Thirdly, harlequin rasboras are schooling fish and do better in groups of 6 or more. And lastly, your flow may be too high but I suspect the may have died from an ammonia spike and just gotten sucked into the filter after.

KimberlyG
Welcome to fishlore!
Can you post a picture of the filter? I have several small Aqueon filters and have never had a problem. Did you use something like Tetra Safe Start to start the cycling?

Jack D
Whoops! Harlequin tetra was what the employee at the pet store called it. Harlequin rasboras, forevermore. Can you quantify 'way longer' for me?

First off, there is no such fish as a harlequin tetra. Secondly, a filter takes way longer than 2 days to cycle if it is brand new. Thirdly, harlequin rasboras are schooling fish and do better in groups of 6 or more. And lastly, your flow may be too high but I suspect the may have died from an ammonia spike and just gotten sucked into the filter after.