Kenyi Cichlids – 2 Pseudotropheus lombardoi - Advice?

Nicholaa

Reaction score
I believe I have 1 male, 1 female since I have 1 that is sorta yellowish and 1 that is definitely bluer - both with the black vertical stripes probably 1.5 inches long right now.

I am brand new to the Cichlid tank world and I thought I had done a lot of research, but I think I chose two fish that are not the easiest to start with?

Everything I am now reading says they are very aggressive and territorial.

I have a 55-gallon tank - and do not have rocks/cave environments for them yet, but do have a sand/pebble bottom. I plan on going out ASAP to get some "hiding spots" for them. We are stocking the tank very slowly while it finishes its cycling process.

Everywhere I go on the Web has "different information" on the best temperature, pH, food, breeding, so I thought I'd come here for everyone's opinions.

1) How many other fish can I put in the tank? I was thinking a total of 6 at full grown length would be the most a 55-gallon can handle.

2) Should I get 1 more female lombardoi so the male has 2? I read that is more ideal.

3) If I get 1 more female of this species, what 2 or 3 others would go best? I thought I should stick with the Pseudotropheus group - and then I'd have the crabro (yay bumblebees! they are sooo cute), zebra, socolofi to choose from if I go to my local pet/store/breeder - or if I can, I can go into another group.

I really wanted the cute little bumblebees, but they are smaller/younger at the store than the lombardoi. I have also read that due to the lombardoi's aggressiveness, I should get *bigger* fish than them.

So, suggestions, any helpful hints - would be much appreciated! I hope I am not repeating any previous posters - I am going to read through old posts now to see if I'm not the only new lombardoi owner.

-----
Edit Addition!
-----