Keeping My Gourami Tanks Healthy

1. Petdepartmentmanager

Petdepartmentmanager New Member Member

Hi, I am so happy I came across this site tonight! I am a hobbyist, my husband and I have had tanks of varying sizes for over 12 years. However, the reason I have been up all night searching this site is "business" related. My tanks at work have been absolutely horrid since I came back from a special assignment that had me away from my work babies for 5 months. My gourami tank has been one of the worst. Currently the tank contains, blue paradise gouramis, blue gouramis, and the fancy neon gouramis. As of todays shipment there are probably 13 blue gouramis, 6 blue paradise, and 7 fancy neons. Unfortunately, as many of you, myself included, know that the vendors have a minimum stocking for each kind of fish. In this case in a business sense this tank (roughly 10gallons) is understocked, as each kind of fish in this tank is supposed to be kept at a minimum of 12. I try to fly under their radar and stock less than their minimum. At any rate, these babies just are a thorn in my side. I know a good bit of the attrition is due to the stress from the shipping, and without a better word for it, the vendor is equivalent to a puppy mill, in my opinion. But, even after the 72 hours they will give us credit for the dead ones, I'm still averaging roughly 5 or 6 out of this tank in a 5 day period. The thing is, they don't have ich, or the nasty cotton like bacterial infection either. I've been super vigilant with 10% water changes for the whole system every three days, if not more. I add the aquarium salt before the shipment arrives in the morning. And change the carbon filters and pre filters out every two to three week. The main thing I notice in their tank is an awful lot of waste. I've got a bottom feeder (synodoctis lace catfish) as well as an asian algae eater. The biostat wheel underneath the system is the optimal color for the good bacterial growth, and my water tests have be