Question Keeping Male Guppies With Female Platies/stocking Tanks

Stirling

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I’m not really a beginner, more intermediate, but I’m still learning about the care, etc. of each fish species - found myself in need of some advice!

I currently have a 15 g tank, a 10 g tank and a 5 g tank.
(Unfortunately my bf won’t let me go bigger since our apartment is a bit small and we share it with our 80 lb pup)

I would like to keep 3 female platies and 2-4 male guppies in the 10 g - so question #1 is will that be an issue? I’ve read some things about male guppies harassing the females?
I currently have 1 male guppy and 1 female platy in the 10 g. and they get along fine so far.

Question #2- my bf also needs me to get rid of the 5 g - but it is currently (temporarily) holding a very aggressive angelfish that kept killing and eating my other fish - 2 loaches and a goby - not to mention he harassed everyone in the tank, especially the other angel I got him with

So since I need that tank gone - I’m trying to find a way to make all fish happy in 10 g and 15 g but I don’t see a way - will fish stores take fish to rehome or ... what do I do?!

The 15 g tank currently has 2 Blue Snails, the other Zebra Angelfish, 1 male Blue Mickey Mouse Platy, 1 False Julii Cory, 3 Pristella Tetras and 1 female Guppy.

Please help! Will take any suggestions / information!

treadingwater

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Your angel needs a 10 Gallon minimum and thats if its kept alone. Your local fish store may take him if hes healthy. I would rehome both angels.