Keep Adding Ammonia In A Fishless Cycle Using Tss+? Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by TheSaraBree, Mar 4, 2019.

1. TheSaraBree

TheSaraBreeNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +10
    Hi everyone! I am brand new to fish keeping. I am going to be getting a betta fish for my almost 6 year old daughter (even though I will be taking on the majority of its care). I purchased all the supplies about a month ago to get the tank cycled in preparation for the fish.

The tank is 6.7 gallons and has 2 java ferns, a marimo moss ball and a couple of fake plants, a cave structure and gravel substrate. Long story short, the cycle has been taking forever. I used Petco's brand of biological booster and for the first 3 weeks I saw no drop in ammonia (I started out with fish food and the switched to ace pure ammonia). I only dosed it to about 3ppm and it stayed that way for several weeks with 0 nitrite and 0 nitrate. I read about using TSS+ so I went out and bought some and added it. That was about a week ago.

I have finally seen some progress. Today my parameters are:
    PH: 8.0
    Ammonia 1 ppm
    Nitrite 0 ppm
    Nitrate 10 ppm
    Temp 80F

I am so happy to finally see some sort of change! However, I am confused about whether or not to dose any more ammonia back to 2ppm or if I should wait until it reaches 0. I know it needs to process ammonia in about 24hrs but I'm just not sure when or if I need to add more especially since I used TSS+.

My daughter has been so patient during all this and knows it has to be done the right way so we don't hurt any fish. We are so close now so I don't want to mess it up! Please let me know what I should do from here!

2. mattgirl

mattgirlFishlore VIPMember

Closer to Heaven every day but for now-Arkansas
    Ratings:
    +6,764
    Experience:
    More than 10 years