Just starting out, 6 gallon freshwater?

1. Set Initiate Member

I'm just starting out with fish, well, I had a three gallon fishbowl with four unknown tiny survivor fish (one of them lived to be six years old), but this is my first time trying to run a tank. I have a couple ideas, but I'm not sure if I'm on the right track.

I'm thinking about purchasing a 6 gallon aquarium from marineland. What I've heard is that this is a good brand, but that the filter can sometimes be too powerful. Tell me if this is true or not.

I've heard the rule "one gallon per inch of fish" and I'm trying to stick to that and allow for breathing room as well. I'm looking into getting either four to five male endlers or three to four male guppies, live plants, artificial decorations and possibly some smallish snails. Does this sound like a decent set up?

Additionally, I was wondering which are better, endlers or guppies? I've always liked guppies, and I don't know how available endlers are in my area, but I prefer smaller fish. Also, I noticed that on this website they recommend a 10 gallon tank or larger for both of these fish. Is that only for people who wish to breed them or is there actually a danger of keeping small numbers these fish in a 6 gallon aquarium?

Thanks!

2. platy ben Well Known Member Member

Well I think you would be fine with 4 endlers of 4 guppies :)
    It sounds like you are going to have a very nice set-up :)

Do you know about the nitrogen cycle?

3. iloveengl Well Known Member Member

Hello Set. :sign0016: to FishLore.