Just Starting Out (105 Gallon)

undetermined

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I am new to owning fish, but a long time lover of fish. With my wife's approval, we finally were financially able to own a tank. I bought this tank and stand from a previous owner of a fish store that got sucked into the oilfield. So far so good, the fish are starting to appear more, and they even sucked on my fingers when I was moving plants around this morning.

682.jpg

I am totally open to suggestions, here is a list of what we have and plan to have.

1 Adult Silver Dollar, 2 Youth Silver Dollars, 4 Black Mollies (1 Male), 4 Creamcicle Mollies (1 Male)

We hope to own soon, 4 Dalmation Mollies (1 Male) and 4 Silver Mollies (1 Male).

Figuring 6" for the Silvers and 3" for the Mollies, I have about 66" of fish for 105 gallons of water. That should leave me room for some babies...

I figure in about 5 years I will own my house, we are going to put in about a 3000-5000 KOI pond then. Something to enjoy on retirement in 30-40 years.

Jrobber

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Very nice looking. Congrats on the new tank. I really enjoy my Mollies and I think you will too.

Nitro Junkie

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
The one inch of fish,for one gallon of water,is not a rule you should hang on to. A good example of it not working is a 10 inch oscar will not survive in a 10 gallon tank. Just wanted to point that rule out to you.

I would get a minimum of 5 silver dollars.The more the better though. You could have 7 or 8 easily.But 6 inches is being a bit conservative. 8 inches or more is a possibility.

Other than that,it sounds good to me.

undetermined

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
The one inch of fish,for one gallon of water,is not a rule you should hang on to. A good example of it not working is a 10 inch oscar will not survive in a 10 gallon tank. Just wanted to point that rule out to you.